Home » About Windsor/Essex County

About Windsor/Essex County

Photo of the Kings Navy Yard Park in Amherstburg Ontario by Steve Blais, RE/MAXEssex County is the southern-most county and census division in Canada located in Southwestern Ontario.

Windsor/Essex County has a population of 388,782 (2011) and currently includes the following municipalities:

– Amherstburg
– Essex
– Kingsville
– Lakeshore
– LaSalle
– Pelee
– Tecumseh
– Leamington
– Windsor

Essex County hosts some of the warmest summer weather in Canada, noting that it is the most southern part of Canada. The area always has four distinct seasons. Cold, wet winters, and warm or hot summers.

The Windsor/Essex County region is now becoming a popular retirement destination for retirees looking to cash out of their more expensive homes in other areas of Canada including Toronto, Ottawa and Vancouver while cashing-in on Windsor/Essex County’s low cost of living, safe communities (Amherstburg has been named “The Safest Town in Canada” for the past three years!) and the area’s relaxed lifestyle.

The region offers residents and visitors access to many parks, waterfront including Lake St. Clair, Lake Erie and the Detroit River, many festivals and a number of quaint “small town” communities within minutes of Windsor and Detroit, MI USA.